A Few New Faves

Image

{my growing collection of Ladurée boxes, compliments of their Madison Avenue store}

The month of June has been absolute madness, without an ounce of the New York glamour I expected it to possess. The city is currently caught in a relentless heat wave and while my days are spent in the world of fashion, my nights are passed at Juice Press, inhaling deliciously cool juices with my dapper men from Cartier, or on the floor of my living room, devouring my growing stack of magazines and books, enjoying the calm midnight breeze through the open windows and nipping at bites of sushi from Blue Ribbon. Nevertheless, I apologize for being so out of touch and hopefully this update will put you all at ease for a while. Here are a few of my new favorite things that have been making the summer seem a little bit sweeter.

Image

{loafers by Stubbs & Wootten, Tod’s and Charles Philips; watch and charm bracelet by Hermès; sunglasses by Celine }

After running my beloved Tory Burch Reva flats straight into the ground on Lexington (literally, the sole fell off), I began to endeavor into the world of loafers – a cool classic that can look simultaneously fun, preppy, and sophisticated and will definitely be filling my needs for shoes for FW 12/13. I’ve been wearing Tod’s since I was a little girl but these traditional tan loafers are amped with scarlet red stitching that look amazing with dark jeans and a classic blazer. Stubbs & Wootten recently became a new favorite of mine around my 20th birthday when I received my first pair in dove grey and lilac. This cheetah print pair is the perfect combination of a sleek shape and a neutral color. I found my CP loafers at Saks on 5th and I’m planning on pairing them with printed shorts for the remainder of the summer.

I update my watch strap every few months with the seasons and I’m currently obsessed with my Hermès Cape Code double-strap in the French house’s trademark orange. Love, love love. It’s new wife, obviously, is my silver charm bracelet that sparkles in the afternoon sunlight spent at Roberta Freymann. Sigh.

Image

{ballet flats by Christian Louboutin; perfumes by Jo Malone and dipyque Paris}

I fell in love with these ballet flats during a late night at Barneys with the original fashionista, my mother. They are feminine, polished, and were just too gorgeous not to snap up immediately. It’s the red soles that will always get to me, I swear. Furthermore, after years of agonizing over the perfect scent, I decided that Jo Malone’s Orange Blossom will be my go-to for bath oils, moisturizers, and perfume. And after posting about diptyque’s scented ovals, I ran out and bought one in a similar orange scent – simply divine and my clothes smell wonderful. They are definitely worth the splurge at $45 for one.

Image

When I confessed my nights were spent on the floor of my living room, I did not mention that I’ve been consumed with the world of Christian Grey and Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series, which dabble in crime solving and forensic science. I’ve most likely read at least twenty books since May and I have the smallest feeling that the employees at Barnes & Noble on 5th are beginning to get annoyed with me emptying their shelves. Sorry not sorry, my darlings!

Image

{black and seersucker blazers by Theory; cream sweater by Calypso St. Barth; navy sweater by Barneys; bag by Chanel}

On my few and far between days away from work, I have been collecting key pieces for the upcoming fall season. After agonizing over the perfect blazer for months now, I dashed into Theory on a whim and fell in love with their collarless, razor sharp jackets so much so that I bought one in classic black and a fun seersucker. They’re the perfect finish to a date night outfit. My cashmere sweaters have been my new best friend these past few weeks despite the heat – Bergdorf’s seems to enjoy chilling their customers to a crisp – and are so light and airy, I just can’t seem to leave them both at home.

Stay purring…

One thought on “A Few New Faves

Leave a Reply

