Unexpected Delights

Bonjour my darlings.

{of course I made a mess but it was totally worth it}

This weekend took me for a slight spin and I wound up creating this seriously yum open-faced sandwich,  consisting of smoked salmon, goat cheese, avocado and deliciously crunchy French bread. I made one just as a trial but then ended up making it three different times over Friday and Saturday…I haven’t quite decided whether I’m going to take that as a good thing or a bad thing.

Anyways, since yours truly owes you a few posts I’m going to post the recipe here and hopefully you’ll enjoy it as much as I did!

{the finished product}

I have to warn you that I was making this recipe up as I went along so the measurements might be slightly random.

1. 1 sliced piece of a French baguette, untoasted

2. 3 slices of smoked salmon

3. Goat cheese

4. 1/2 avocado

5. Mayonnaise

6. Salt, pepper, olive oil & lemon

First, spread as much goat cheese as you want on your sliced baguette; pile three slices of the salmon so it covers your cheese. Set aside for later. Dice your 1/2 of an avocado so that it is really fine and put into a separate bowl to mash up (so that it is only slightly chunky) and mix with 1 teaspoon of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of mayonnaise and add just a light sprinkle of salt and pepper. The mixture should be semi-chunky and only a light layer of mayo should cover the diced avocados. Spread the mixture over the salmon and cheese and then squeeze half of a lemon over the entire sandwich and voila!

Bon appetit my darlings!

Stay purring..

Leave a Reply

