The Beauty Standard

Salutations my darlings,

I apologize deeply for neglecting you but school has been so sensationally busy that I’m pouring myself into bed by dawn almost every night it seems. However little sleep I or you might be getting, that is no excuse to not look gorgeous when you wake up! Here are a few quick foolproof tips that will keep your fabulous self looking amazing day and night no matter your busy schedule- and best of all, you can do them all at home!

1. Glowing skin like Natasha Poly? Oui, si vous plait!

This scrub-mask combo will be sure to erase any ickys before the morning! To make the scrub, take 1 tablespoon and sour cream (which contains lactic acid, nice for skin) and 1 teaspoon of baking soda and mix them together. Gently massage onto your face, and neck and décolletage to buff anyway dry skin. Leave it for 3-5 minutes and then rinse completely with warm water.

Next, take a packet of warm oatmeal (not scalding! Don’t be that girl with skin like a fire hydrant!), 1 teaspoon of olive oil and an egg yolk and mix them all together. Apply to your newly exfoliated face and then leave to set for 30 minutes (prime Facebook stalking time anyone?)

After washing, apply your regular moisturizer et voila! Perfect skin!

2. Tip to toe soft skin

I’ve tried this body exfoliator and trust me, it’s ahhh-mazing! I’ve been to my fair share of spas but use this every other day and top with a good moisturizer? Girl, you’re set.

Mix used coffee grounds, olive oil and freshly squeezed lemon juice (measurements depend on how much you want to make) and a few drops of cognac. Scrub over your gorgeous self with a loofa or exfoliating glove for 5-10 minutes (think of it as a mini workout, if your arms aren’t tired by the end of it you didn’t do it hard enough) until it becomes warm on your skin. Pinch your thighs, butt, stomach and arms (gently!) until they are red and itchy and then rinse with clean warm water. Follow with your fave body cream (I favor Bliss Lemon and Sage because it’s not greasy and absorbs immediately)

3. Soft, flake-free lips? Sign me up!

I’ve done this with my girlfriends several times over the course of last semester and it usually ended up happening at around 3 am which made it all the more fun and it’s super simple!

Save an old toothbrush or washcloth and rinse under warm water. Massage vigorously in circles over dry lips to remove all the dry skin until they are rosy red and seriously smooth. Top with a light balm (I use La Mer’s balm) right before you go to bed! Do this every other night.

4. For luxuriously soft and shiny hair

I’ll be the first to admit that I am obsessed with Rosie Huntington-Whiteley’s hair and I couldn’t tell you why except for the fact that it looks perfect all the time. If you’re like me and your favorite morning hobby is destroying your hair with your army of hair straighteners and blow dryers and creams then this great mask will restore luster and softness.

Beat one egg-white until it becomes frothy in the bowl and then add 1/4 cup of plain organic yogurt and a 1/4 of mayonnaise and mix really well.  Massage into wet hair (don’t shampoo before!) and leave to set for 30 minutes. It’s best if you cover your hair with a towel you do not mind getting dirty or a plastic shower hat if you happen to have one at hand. Make yourself a drink while you wait, perhaps? Wash the mixture out with a gentle shampoo and very cold water (I use Frederick Fekkai’s Apple Cider Clarifying Shampoo to ensure everything comes out)!

Repeat this every month for a quick-fix moisturizer on hair and for all of you who abuse your hair like I do, might I recommend Kerastase Resistance Fibre Architecte serum? Smooth it through dry ends before you blow dry and right after and your hair is immediately smooth and it protects from further damage!

Stay purring my beautiful kittens!

Leave a Reply

